WOYWW and those metal shapes

Its Wednesday again and as I missed putting up my desk last week I am here again with my little corner in the back bedroom.   I did visit a few desk last week though and was intrigued with some of the different desks I saw.

Before I reveal my desk though I thought I had better post the two cards I made with the metal shapes which were lurking on the desk a couple of weeks ago.

Decoration cards

I have given the metal pieces a hanging ribbon so that they can be removed from the card and hung on the tree if recipients wish.   The first card I made like this left a very ‘naked’ card so with these I have put a shape underneath the shape so that when you remove the decoration you still have a pretty card to look at.  the metal was cut with a nestability shape before I ran it through the Big Shot in an embossing folder.

Now my desk.   It is very dark and dismal here – again – so even my south-facing desk is not getting too much light.

WOYWW - Oct 6th - week 3 for me

There are two finished cards and two to finish for my next ‘Card Purse’ which is stood up on the right.  I bought myself some new distress inks on Saturday and some ‘Cut and Dry Foam’ so you can see the total collection of my inks near the back – all 5 or 6 of them!!.   I will have to have a really good play with them at some time as I am not using them to their full potential but at least with the foam I will use them a little bit more than I did when I had only 3.   The pink piece of card right at the front is some Craftwork Card cutouts with which I had been making cards with earlier on in the week.   I haven’t posted them yet as I want to do a few more and then post a few bundles.  They are hopefully destined to be sold in fives at the fair.

Am off now to link my desk and have a quick nosey at some of the ones already posted which can be found here on Julies Blog.

Happy Crafting

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to WOYWW and those metal shapes

  1. Sally says:

    What a great idea to make the crads with removeable tree decorations! They are superb! Your desk looks like a lovely hive of industry! x

  2. Desk looks great … LOVE those cards!
    #27

  3. Gez says:

    Brilliant cards. Love the idea of being able to remove them & have them as ornaments. 🙂 Have fun with your inks.xx

  4. Susan Allan says:

    lovely idea to decorate behind the removable tree decoration
    sue xx 88

  5. Lynne says:

    Brilliant idea! thanks for sharing. Your desk looks like a little hive of activity.
    Thanks for poping over and leaving a comment. The bow maker is very good, I got mine at a show many years ago. Do you think my guest would mind having their dinner on trays?? lol Lynne

  6. Love those cards – like the idea of removable tree decorations. Thanks for sharing – Sunshine Girl (28)

  7. sue says:

    Hi ya
    fabulous cards, luv the idea of tree decs, lovely creative desk,have great day, happy WOYWW, sue,x (2)

  8. Anne says:

    Love the cupcake cards 🙂 Love the cards with the metal on too, great idea to havea little hanging ornament
    Anne x (70)

  9. Pam says:

    Cards look good. I’ m on my 3rd glue gun opps

  10. Claire says:

    Next year this time you’ll probably be so addicted and have atleast 50 Distress Inks (if they do that many – I should really know shouldn’t I!?!). Great cards 🙂

  11. Nikki C says:

    MMM Cupcakes I have an addiction for those (fat free kind of course)
    fab desk
    hugs Nikki (40)

  12. peggy gatto says:

    Fabulous idea!!!!!!!!

  13. helen says:

    Love your busy looking desk, and the cards.

  14. butlersabroad says:

    Hanging cards turned out great, good idea to put something behind them in case they take the decoration off the front. And don’t worry about only having a few of the distress inks, from small acorns do big oak trees grow, or something like that! Perhaps I just made that bit up!!!

    Hugs
    Brenda #105

  15. laura says:

    Love the metal cards, the idea of taking the ornament off the card and hanging it on the tree is fab!!!!! The cupcake cards look cute x x

  16. kay says:

    Yet again you put me to shame, your cards are lovely,l know your craft fair will be a success. take care kay

  17. Daniele says:

    great idea and a great desk thanks for visiting mine
    hugs from Daniele

  18. Julia Dunnit says:

    I love the paper you’re using for the cards – I had some in the summer and used it up in a jif – in fact couldn’t stop making stuff wit it – especially the blue side. Your cards are fun. Like the metal idea, they worked out really well!

  19. Karla says:

    Love those cupcakes! 😉

  20. Wipso says:

    Fab cards. Lovely to see how you used the metal shapes from last week.
    A x

  21. Glen says:

    Hi Tricia. Thanks for the snoop on your desk. Love those metal cards and the cupcakes. TFS. ~Glen~

  22. Michelle says:

    Great cards, lovely idea for the embellies to be used as tree decorations. Thanks for sharing your desk and for popping by mine! Hope you had a great WOYWW!
    hugs
    Michelle
    x

  23. patsy says:

    That is a fab idea- not only a card but a gift as well! Patsy #39 from HeARTworks

  24. nnalorac says:

    What a great idea, love the cards and creative desk. nnalorac.xx

  25. Smiffy says:

    Be warned…Distress Inks are totally addictive! The cards look great. Pam (21)

  26. Amanda says:

    Great idea on your cards and thank for letting me have a nosey around your desk.

    Thanks for visiting my work desk too!

    Crafty Creations by AJ
    Amanda (115)

  27. Great idea – thanks for sharing it with us! #5

  28. Phree says:

    Thanks for sharing the cards you made with the metal shapes, what a great idea to only attach them with some ribbon so they can be used as tree ornaments.

  29. You have about four more of those inks than I have! Actually 5, since I remembered I only have ONE. I know you will use them, though. And those cards are lookiing really good so far. Love the ones from 2 weeks ago, too. (#1)

  30. What a great idea – to make part of the card a usable decoration! And nice to see a peek at where someone else creates.

  31. joanne says:

    What smashing cards. Such a good idea to make tree ornaments. It must be lovely to have your desk under a window. so much light.
    Thanks for the peep.
    Luv Joanne xx

  32. Ann says:

    Thanks for commenting on my blog. Yes, I do have to clear everything away after a craft session as Hubby has OCD.
    Lovely idea to have removable trees on your cards. And cupcakes! Cupcakes are great!

  33. Sarah says:

    Card and a little gift all in one! Fab idea 🙂

Leave a comment