A journey made

Well I bit the bullet and took myself to see my parents this weekend.  This involves a trip of 145 miles each way and seeing as I have only ever made the trip on my own once before – about 5 or 6 years ago – I am feeling very pleased with myself.   I have often driven the route while John did the navigating and so this time I thought  ‘plug the SatNav in and you will be fine Patricia’.   Well the SatNav decided it wasn’t going to play for me , ( apparently the fuse had fallen out!! ) but I was brave and just carried on hoping that my instinct would come into play .  Thankfully it did and my wonderful hubby would have been very proud of me.  Any way that 1st journey is out-of-the-way and I will feel much more confident to do other journeys in the future.

I was thoroughly spoilt while at my parents and have come back relaxed and able to move on a little more on the next steps along the rocky road which is life at the moment.   I still feel very lonely without my beloved John but the gaps between tears seem to getting slightly further apart and I am remembering the good times more often which is a big step.

My crafting mojo is slowly coming back too and there are lots of ideas and projects in my head.  I am going to have to write them down or else they will disappear very quickly off the radar.   My biggest project is getting the garden in order and as I am normally a fair weather gardener this is going to be the hardest task for me to achieve but ‘a little bit at a time’ has to be my mantra at this time and hopefully my ideas will come to fruition eventually.

Bit late with the Easter card photos but here are a couple I recovered from my previous years makings.     Card for N & F - 2012I stencilled the background using two different Distress Inks and then attached the stamped image to a scalloped circle.  There has been glitter glue added to add a bit of sparkle and I water washed the little flowers.  The stamp is an old one which has hardly been used in the past but which I have always liked .  It is Personal Impression stamp which has a number P222M but no name so I am not sure if it is still available.   This second card is made with a Craftwork card Warren printed shape which I coloured last year with Promarkers.    Card for Mum & Dad - 2012I have a feeling the paper is from a free pad from a magazine and I just tore the shape roughly and then used my Distress Inks to edge the paper.  Neither of these cards took long to do as although my mojo is slowly coming back it doesn’t stay very long at the moment and so I’m trying to use up some of the stash which is already half done.

Hope you all had a good Easter and are now busily preparing for the Jubilee.  I’m not I must say.  May do a Jubilee card for a competition next month at WI but that will probably be as far as I get in that direction.

Take Care

x Tricia

This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Colouring Images, Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A journey made

  1. Wipso says:

    Take every day at a time Tricia and you will get there. Glad to hear you had some well earned spoiling while you were away. You will tackle your tasks with renewed energy now 🙂
    Hugs,
    A x

  2. Lea Davis says:

    Well done Tricia – I am sure there will be lots of ‘firsts’ for you but well done for grabbing the bull by the horns! I am sure John would have been VERY proud of you and you should be proud of yourself!!! Take care, Lea xxx

  3. Christine says:

    Hi Tricia, have just found you via docrafts. You were very brave doing that journey and I salute you xx

Leave a Reply

