My PIF and another WOYWW

Well actually its a bit of a cheat this week as my desk is not on show, mainly cos I’m scheduling this post – hopefully – and as my ES is asleep in the craft room I can’t get in to show the usual mess on my desk.

My PIF from Lisa-Jane for WOYWW 2nd -versary

I have managed to get a photo of my lovely PIF which I received from Lisa-Jane at Inside my Head blog.   She was a bit unsure of it but I love it and will be putting it up eventually on a cupboard door in my craft room.   At the moment it has pride of place on the mantlepiece in my living room for all to see.    My PIF to Angela at Toucan Crafts has been received and is also being appreciated.

One of the things I have wanted to have a go at for a while has been a Journal.

My hand-made art Journal

I started one at the beginning of the year but I only decorated the cover.   I have seen such amazing journals on various blogs while looking at desks over the past months that I was eager to have a go.   I couldn’t find a plain paper book at a price I wanted to pay and so decided that I would have a go at making my own.   I had some thick pieces of card left from paper packs and have a lot of 12×12 paper which I rather knew I would never use for cards so here is my very first attempt at ‘art’.    I used paint pots in  a ‘Pashmina’ pink colour to start with ,  a tag from a recent purchase of a pair of briefs, and a strip of a border punch which I had discarded.   The strip was coloured with a Versa fine Brilliance pad in ‘Orchid’ and stuck down with Decopatch glue.   I used a free stencil with acrylic paint – another first for me – to make the big flower and a piece of lace I purloined from something I was throwing away, once again stuck down with the same glue.    I re-used one of those colour-catchers sheets which had ‘caught ‘ the red from my sons very old t-shirt and a cut out a few flowers using a Wild-Flower die I have.    A flower button just finishes it off nicely.  I also made a bookmark and will eventually tie it and a pen/pencil on to the binder rings so they don’t get lost.   I have used a mixture of plain card and sheets of different paper and sizes to add to the eccentricity of this and will be having to decorate/colour some of the pages so I can write on them.

Apologies if I didn’t get around to visiting you last week, I started off reasonably well and then my internet connect went awol and I was off-line until Monday evening and then life took over as it does.

I hope you all had a wonderful ‘versary’ and those who joined in the PIF had a brilliant surprise.

Happy WOYWW and hope the next year is as good as the last.

This entry was posted in Recycling, Surprises, WOYWW. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to My PIF and another WOYWW

  1. Love the look of your pif gift.Your journal coming along nicely too .Well done you for making one.Have fun!
    Have happy creative wednesday
    hugs judex2

  2. Helen says:

    I think we all doubt whether our own items will be liked “the other end”, lol. I think it’s fab. Enjoy your journalling.

  3. Wipso says:

    Fab PIF gift on show today. 🙂
    A x

  4. gorgeous journal, welldone

  5. Sarah (sasa) says:

    A great gift indeed and your journal is just lovely and made with such creative skills – great work.
    Have a good WOYWW,
    Sarah at 7

  6. Fabby PIF pressies.

    Happy WOYWW.

    Hugs, Sandra Take a peek at MY PIF here

  7. Sarpreet says:

    gorgeous PIF, thank you for sharing, Happy WOYWW 105, #22, (please do check out my blog candy)

  8. Kathleen says:

    What a lovely Pif and your journal looks fab too.
    Kathleen x

  9. A very pretty pif, with a lot of love in it. Your journal is so lovely, and will give you lots of pleasure in the future.

  10. Jozarty says:

    Beautiful PiF! It has been so nice to see the wave of giving started by Julia. All good fun,
    JoZarty x
    ps be sure not to miss my blog candy!

  11. Okienurse says:

    Aweome PIF gifts there! It is nice to see such beautiful work being shared. Thanks for sharing! Vickie

  12. Jan McC says:

    Your PIF put a smile on my face. Your Journal is looking special. Hope you finish and use soon. #100

  13. Sue H says:

    It’s a shame we can’t see your desk on the first WOYWW of the new year but I love what you have shown us, your PIF, it’s absolutely stunning.

    Happy Crafting!
    Sue
    x

  14. patsy says:

    What a pretty card! It certainly is full of love! And good job on your first time journal!

  15. fairyrocks says:

    Lovely PIF, Wonderful start on the art journal.
    Keep smiling and creating

  16. Twiglet says:

    Beautiful PiF and lovely project.

  17. Thank you Tricia! Love the look of the book – hope it serves you well xx

  18. Oooh your pif is lovely – bet you are really chuffed! Love your journal too – I keep buying little notebooks to cover but dont so am ending up writing in plain ones at the moment.

Leave a Reply

