Joining the Freeview community

One of the things we brought down from MIL was her Freeview box as we didn’t have one.    We had never really felt the need but as the rest of the family were all in possession of one we took the opportunity to join the community that is Freeview.    My OH fixed it up yesterday and I thought I would have a look at Create and Craft this morning.    Don’t think I will be bothering very often – it seems a lot of waffle to me.   I am sure there are some good bits on there but unless I’m going to see something very new I will pass.   I can’t afford the time to be sat listening to someone explaining to me how to ‘click’ this and ‘click’ that to make a card.   I prefer to learn myself and try out techniques I have heard about and seen in mags, on blogs and occasionally on Youtube.    Anyway rant over.   All you crafty people out there who have been looking at this channel for a while will no doubt be able to tell me who , if anybody, is worth watching.

I had a fun day yesterday playing with some Decopatch and chipboard shapes I had treated myself to at the weekend.  They aren’t finished yet so I will not be showing them.   I will show you some of the things we made in the craft class I hold for friends.

Samples for 2nd craft class

This first picture shows my samples which were a simple box, a card using various punches and a card which had a split in it , using punches in a different way.    I had called this class PUNCH DRUNK and hoped that I could inspire people to think in a different way about how they used a punch.    The paper I used in the left hand card was some from a paperpack I won from a magazine.  It is by Kaisercraft and called Nan’s Favourite Collection.   I rarely enter the giveaways in magazines but decided this time to have a go at the ones in issue 82 of Simply Cards & Papercraft.   I was very surprised when this popped through my door.   There are some lovely papers in there and well worth a look.   The papers in the second card were from the free pack of paper from Craftwork Cards which came with the same magazine.   The box was an instant demo my friend Margaret gave at a committee meeting we both attended and I was so impressed I couldn’t wait to give it a go .   These boxes were made using a 8×8 inch square and are so easy to do just by folding.  Margaret’s blog is here and I’m sure you will be able to find out how to do them somewhere in the blog-o-sphere if she hasn’t got it on her blog.

2nd craft class results

I love how given the same materials people come up with different ideas and this last photo shows what my friends came up with this time from the idea I gave them.   I usually give them choice with the elements and also the equipment so we had some lovely diverse interpretations of my initial sample.

Well this is all for now – sorry for the waffling.

Will be back tomorrow with WOYWW.

Happy Crafting

x Tricia

This entry was posted in Card class, Cards, Surprises. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Joining the Freeview community

  1. Teresa says:

    The thing with C&C is to record anyone interesting – Clarity stamps (2nd Sun in month ) , Nicky from Polka Doodles, Joanna Sheen ( see their sites for dates and times) plus a few others I can’t think of right now. then skip through the sales pitch and just watch the demonstrations. That way an hours program can be watched in about 20 minutes. Although they do have some good offers the postage is high and slow so I usually source the thing I want elsewhere. Shh don’t tell them!!!

Leave a Reply

