Sunny days and card class

Yesterday along with Wednesday and today have been beautiful.    I have dug out summer trousers and tops and felt happy and warm.     No doubt next week will be cold again.    Some of you may know we have only a Parkray type fireplace in our house which heats the water and one radiator .  At this time of year it becomes a battle of the sexes as the men ( OH and ES) say its time to let the fire out while the lone voice  – me – says ‘NO, it’s too soon wait until April is over’.     Showering in a cold bathroom is no fun at all.!

The card class went off well and the four ladies who came enjoyed themselves and say they will come back.  We couldn’t find a suitable date for next month so we have one organised for the beginning of May.   I’m glad now that two of the people I had asked, politely declined as 6 people around my table would have been a bit of a disaster.!!  As you can image I forgot to take any photos of the actual cards they produced but I do have my sample cards to show.

Easel card sample for 1st card class.

The base and the ‘easel’ are both Cardwork Cards as is the butterfly, the DP and the flower shape.   I traced the flower shape and put through my BigShot in an embossing folder by  Crafts-Too called ‘Daisy and Swirl’.  I’m not sure where I bought this as I rarely shop on-line but it’s a pretty folder and useful.   I have used Brilliance ink in an Orchid colour to highlight the design and inked edges etc.  The flower was cut from some free papers and scrunched before securing with a pearl brad.   The base paper was also from a freebie pad.

2nd sample card for 1st class.

This second card gave the class a chance to use their own ideas ‘cos I gave them a selection of card colours and other elements to choose from as well as a completely different topper which was twice as big as mine.   They all opted to forgo the embossing on the front and as their toppers also included some corner pieces they used them instead of the gems.  Pretty ribbon for them completed a card they were all proud of.   The inside of this card is covered with more freebie paper and a white nestie label edged with ink to just set it off and give you somewhere to write your greeting.   I can’t remember where my topper came from and the ribbon is very ancient as it has been in my box for ever.

right off to bake now as we have an empty cake tin and OH feels hard done by.

Happy crafting

x Tricia

This entry was posted in Card class, Cards. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunny days and card class

  1. Wipso says:

    Think I’d leave the cake tin empty til you got an agreement over the heating 🙂
    Isn’t it just lovely to see some sun and doesn’t it amek us all feel better?
    Hugs,
    A x

  2. Jules says:

    Hi Tricia

    Well done on doing your first class. I am sure everyone will have really enjoyed themselves.

    Your cards look lovely.

    Love Jules xx

Leave a Reply

