Julie Hickey is coming to town

Yes , Julie from Craftwork Cards, is coming to Bury St Edmunds on Saturday 5th March to ‘Your Touch of Craft’ on Risbygate Street to do a demo from 10am til 1pm.  She is also doing a workshop which I have been lucky enough to get a place on – unfortunately it is now full but the demo should be good and there is no booking for that.   Craftwork cards new collections are in the shop now and I am really liking the Botanical collection and their cute bunny called ‘Warren’.   I’m not really one for cute images but he is lovely.

So I have been lucky this week going to two workshops.  The one on Wednesday taken by the lovely Suezie had us making a box of cards and toppers to give away.  Suezie used some lovely Bo Bunny papers and although I haven’t quite got around to photographing my efforts you can see the complete box here. Suezie is crafting with a bit of a health problem at the moment but she is managing to produce some super stuff as always.  Read all about it and see her creations here.

Lastly as I have no cards to show at the moment – they are all waiting for approval by the lady who has commissioned them – I will show you a very simple card I made for our Ruby Wedding invites 18 months ago.   I had never actually got around to photographing this card and had to ask my ES for his so I could take a photo to finish off the album.

Ruby Wedding Invite - 11/07/09

We made a sudden decision to do something for our 40th Anniversary and I had to produce 50 invites in double-quick time.   I used small squares of card which I had torn with a ruler, layered with some hand-made paper and a peel off sentiment.   The edges were all inked with Versa Colour Peony and the ink pad was swiped over the peel off before that was lifted to give a relief effect.   I printed off the invite on the computer again tore with the ruler and inked the edges.   All quickly done in a week.    Quite an achievement at the time as I was still working full-time!   I don’t do quick at the best of times even now.

This entry was posted in Cards, Workshops. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Julie Hickey is coming to town

  1. Wipso says:

    Pop over to our blog shop cos there is a surprise waiting for you there 🙂
    Hugs,
    A x

  2. Congrats on your win, you lucky thing.
    Hugs, Sandra

  3. Re your comment on my blog about chooks . . . go on Tricia . . . give it a go! I keep 2 chickens and they only require a small amount of daily attention to keep them fed, watered, healthy & happy. They pay you back with eggs and funny antics that WILL make you smile, if not laugh out loud! They have been a pleasure . . . although they WILL trash your garden if you let them. Please take a look at this website, which was invaluable when we started out . . . http://www.downthelane.net/forum/viewforum.php?f=41&sid=eeadef901e017923088e2eadb9280f40 It’s full of friendly people with TONNES of good advice.
    Hugs, Sandra

Leave a Reply

