A bit of culture!

Well you may not actually think so but it was fun any way.   We have been lucky here in town to have a wonderful art display put on called ‘Sweet, Sweet Galaxy’.   It was a fantasy display made with sugar – yes sugar.   Seven hundred kilos of it.   It is quite incredible.

Sweet Sweet Galaxy

 

My photo doesn’t really do it justice as it is quite fantastic.   I don’t know what I expected but it wasn’t this multi coloured display of sugar and origami and other stuff.    It was made by a couple of australian artists called who go under the name of  ‘PIP and POP’ .   I’m sorry I couldn’t find a link to them but the above links should give you a bit of information about their installation.   The exhibition finishes tomorrow so you may not be able to see it here but if you get a chance to see it – please do .   It is quite amazing.

Our other bit of culture was to go to see ‘The Kings Speech’.   I wasn’t sure whether OH would enjoy this but it is well written and thought out.   Colin Firth definitely deserves any awards he has got for this as it must be the hardest thing in the world to play someone with a stammer.   It was interesting to see Derek Jacobi playing the Archbishop as I remember he also has played a stammerer in ‘I, Claudius’

The visitors from the Lace Group had brought with them to the Craft Group some beautifully tatted coasters which one of their members had made.   We were all given one and I thought I would show you mine.  This is one talented lady and this is another craft which is fast going out of fashion.

Tatted coaster

 

I did try to crop this photo but the system wasn’t playing today.   It is a pretty sparkly pink and beautifully finished.    I remember my Mum doing this years ago but along with lace this is another craft I won’t be taking up!   Way too fiddly for me.

Enjoy your weekend .

x Tricia

This entry was posted in Craft Group, Days out, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A bit of culture!

  1. Wipso says:

    Gorgeous tatting….one craft I tried but failed at 🙂
    A x

  2. Lynne says:

    Love the picture of all that forbidden sugar; and the coaster is really pretty and such a shame that this is another craft that is going out of fashion. But I am with you; far too fiddly for me. Where exactly do you live; you seem to have lots of good things to see and do.
    Happy Sunday
    love Lynne

  3. Wipso says:

    Thanks so much for the knitty link. Love it. Also looking for little prem cardys and struggling to find ones in DK if you know of any 🙂
    Hugs,
    A x

Leave a Reply

