A family party

Our ES birthday was this weekend but it was also a year since I retired after being made redundant.    We had a little birthday celebration with his favourite meal of lasagna, salad and chips, followed by two colour jelly.   He has been requesting this meal for a few years now and the only thing that varies are the flavours of the jelly.   This year it was blackcurrant and strawberry.   His brother and his fiancée and her daughter made up the party and a good time was had by all.    As usual I was on the drag with his card and it is very simple.

Tai Chi birthday card

I inked the edges of a white card blank with Broken china distress ink on cut and dry foam and then added two circles of paper which I had been donated in a recent goody bag swap over on the Docrafts forum.   The words say ‘Tai Chi’ in Chinese ( I hope) and the little sentiment is a free peel off I have had from a magazine quite a while ago.  I just put the square stones in there to balance it up.   Mens cards are not the easiest of things to do and ES always finds the simplest of cards to buy when sending cards so this was right for him.

I also had a commissioned card to do this week and the brief  – was brief to say the least.    It had to have a bit of glitter, be a little bit crafty, maybe WI -ish and a small 70 as the card was being given well after the recipients birthday.     I came up with this.

Commissioned card for DA

Again I have used some goody bag stuff – part of my mission this year to actually use the stuff I have received from friends.    The hand-made stitched paper really suited the brief quite well here.  The blue paper is edged with a MS punch and I have used various gems to bling it up a bit.  The little WI in the corner is cut from a photo of mine I had taken in Cardiff last year .   I used some little scissor and cotton reel buttons donated by my friend Kay to cover up the fact that the words on the poster actually say ‘inspiring women for 95 years!!!   Didn’t think that would sit well with the 70-year-old.   The flowers are a Hobbycraft hydrangea pulled to bits and three sizes of flower stuck together.    ( Anybody got any ideas for the stamens and calyx which are strewn all over my desk ?)

All for now and Happy Crafting.

X Tricia

This entry was posted in Cards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

