Card for the Hospice competiton

Well as promised I am back today to show my finished childs card which I entered for a WI group competition.   The brief was a welcome card for a child who was going into the local childrens hospice so it was quite hard really.   I don’t do many childrens cards to start with and I don’t personally know any children who have had the misfortune to have to go to the hospice but I did my best.

Hospice card for WI Group meeting

I started with a Craftwork scalloped card and inked the edges with a dewdrop chalk in a lovely colour which I think is Orchid.   The image is a freebie from Pollycraft called ‘Flo – the simple things’ which I have only used once before but which I really liked.   I have coloured her with Promarkers, cut out with a nestie circle and then layered on to a blossom circle cut from a piece of freebie paper from a mag.   The letters for Hello were cut from my Sizzix alphabet set in three different papers and set on a Tim Holtz label / keyplate.   The buttons were from my stash and the three in the corner had to be doctored by OH as they were shanked buttons and didn’t fit otherwise.   I have stamped a little flower all over the white space because it looked a bit bare.   I think this is from another freebie set.  ( I never throw stuff away – it may come in useful one day).inside of hospice card I wanted to make the inside a bit different so I first of all made a step with the other label on the Tim Holtz die and then found this little bird from a Basic Grey sheet called Kioshi – element Stickers.  They peel off the base and so I put it on some card , cut around it and attached a Papermania spring so it sort of wobbles.   I added a google eye to it as well in order to give a bit more dimension.   More of the flowers around the edge just finished it off.   It didn’t win but it will be going to the hospice to be given to a child at some time.   I have to say I did cover myself by putting a little notice on the back saying not suitable for a child under 3 years old as there are quite a few small parts and I would hate something untoward to happen.   I am also going to enter this into the Tuesday Throwdown challenge which is anything goes.

 

Sorry this is a bit of a ramble.   Off to link.

Happy Crafting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Card for the Hospice competiton

  1. Esther says:

    Hi – thanks for your comments on my WOYWW. This is a really pretty card, I’m sure any child would be cheered to receive it. hope the knitting is progressing well…Esther xx

  2. Lauren says:

    Adorable! Thank you for joining us at Tuesday Throwdown! We hope to see you again next week!

    Lauren

Leave a Reply

