New knitting and WOYWW again

I am a bit reluctant to say it is a lovely day here as it started off like this yesterday and then turned to worms as my DH would say.    Its Wednesday so its WOYWW again.   If you don’t know about this then hop over to Julias blog here and see more lovely work desks.

WOYWW - 20th Oct 2010

My desk is terribly messy today as I was out yesterday afternoon and evening and just left it as was in the morning.   I am making a card for a WI group competition tonight – nothing like last-minute then – and I have two images which I can’t make my mind up over.   They are both freebies from various sites and it is the first time I have used them at a sensible size as I wasn’t able to work out how to resize them until last week when ES initiated me into the magic world of Inkscape.   I still haven’t formed a real plan in my mind as to what the cards will look like but I will show tomorrow when they/it will be finished and I will let you know the outcome of the competition.

Yesterday one of my missions in town , amongst many I may add – why do family think you can do all their messages as well when you are retired? – was to get some wool to knit myself a long-sleeved cardigan / jumper.

Heather cardigan wool

It is another Noro wool which I have used before and I think will knit up in beautiful heathery colours.   It is called Kureyon Sock Yarn and is what was usually known as 4 ply so will be a nice fine fabric and as it is 70% wool should be lovely and warm too.    Not something I’m going to be able to finish in a week but well worth the effort.  It is knitted on 2.75 and 3.25 mm needles – old english sizes 12 and 10.   So looking through my vast store of new bamboo and old steel needles find I have the 10’s and 3 pairs of 11’s and a pair of 13 but NO 12’s.   I asked my friend when I went out last night if she had a pair I could borrow until Thursday when I am next in town and fortunately she had so I can at least cast on this afternoon before I go out again this evening!!

Off to link to WOYWW and to finish off my childs card for tonight.

Happy Crafting

Edit : I’m No 80 for those getting confused.  Some one snook in before me!

This entry was posted in Cards, Knitting, WOYWW. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to New knitting and WOYWW again

  1. Maggie says:

    Lovely photo. 🙂 Thank you for sharing. Pop over to my blog for my first blog candy and a chance to win lovely goodies. 🙂 http://maggiescraft.blogspot.com/

    Maggie x

  2. Sally says:

    Beautiful wool there, Tricia – it’s going to knit up into a stunning cardigan. Can’t wait to see what your finished card will be for tonight…your workdesk looks intriguing! It’s great fun seeing what other people have on their craft tables. I’m afraid mine is very boring because I nearly always clear up as I go along…yawn! x

  3. That wool looks yummy … and I like the phrase turning to worms … never heard it before … and if your DH does n’t mind … I think I shall use it :0)
    This week I am link number 67 :0)

  4. sue says:

    Hi ya Tricia
    lovely creative desk, fab images, gorgeous coloured wool, have great day, happy WOYWW, sue,x (13)

  5. What an enterprising adventure. You must love to knit. It would take me a year to knit a scarf, much less a jumper! Happy WOYWW (no. 12).

  6. JoZarty says:

    That desk is a mess to be proud of! Well done!
    Love the Noro wools and have knitted so many things with them but I did make a kimono style cardi and hat for one of my little grandees in the identical wool to yours. It has worn well and washes a treat.
    JoZarty x

  7. helen says:

    Turned to worms? What the heck?! Love the sound of it though. That wool looks gorgeous, love the colours. Have fun with the knitting. (38)

  8. Jennie says:

    I love the colours in that Noro yarn – I always seem to come back to purples, no matter how hard I try to persuade myself to pick a green or a blue! Purples are always the ones which catch my eye!

  9. neet says:

    If only I had the patience to knit something so fine. Look forward to seeing the finished result. By the way you are 80 – just thought it might cause some confusion if you keep putting #79. I too work better when the adrenalin is running ie at the last minute.

  10. Wipso says:

    Gorgeous colour of wool. That will be a labour of love knitting on such fine needles. 🙂
    A x

  11. Elizabeth says:

    I don’t knit anymore but if I was going to be tempted it would be with that wool – the colours are gorgeous and you are going to be really cosy over winter. Elizabeth #60

  12. cheryl says:

    oh love your desk so creative love that wool too,hugs cheryl xxx 25

  13. Maria Simms says:

    Yey i found you! whats going on with all the link numbers changing!!!
    I love the look of that wool.

    Maria
    number77 i think!

  14. twiglet says:

    I love the colour of that wool. Hope your card for the comp was a success too!

  15. Bernie says:

    That’s beautiful wool; it looks as though it will be really soft too. Hope you are pleased with the finished card – and good luck. Bernie (126)

  16. butlersabroad says:

    Very creative desk, good luck in the competition. I can see you’re a “proper” knitter, you’ve made a test swatch for the tension! If you finish this by next week and post I’ll be throwing myself off the nearest, convenient tall building!! Do you know how long it’s taken me to get a simple scarf to 14″ long!!

    Hugs
    Brenda 87

  17. Voodoo Vixen says:

    Stunning coloured wool you have chosen for your cardie… not much point me doing something like that as it would be too warm to wear it by the time it was finished!! Happy woyww from Annette #33

  18. Jules says:

    That wool looks gorgeous, would love to see the finished jumper. Thanks for visiting 😀 Jules #63

  19. Karla says:

    I’d love to see the knitted piece when it’s finished! I wouldn’t be able to finish it any time soon. That’s why I stick to crocheting little animals, lol.

  20. A very creative desk you have there! have fun knitting – they are small sized needles arent they though. Thanks for sharing (no. 46)

  21. butlersabroad says:

    Just me again Tricia, you had mentioned that you didn’t know if it gets cold where I am…. well, as where I am is in Michigan I can assure you it gets a bit brass monkies with between 4ft – 5ft of snow usually and bitter temps! We can often have HIGHS of -20C and lows of -30C, thankfully that’s fairly rare but we do go for weeks not getting above freezing point! Better crack on with that scarf then hadn’t I!!!

    Hugs
    Brenda 87

  22. spyder says:

    yes, you have to be quick, I was number 10 and now I’m #17 (slow typer) great snoopy time. have a great woyww, even if it is a bit late, ((Lyn))

  23. Kym Upshaw says:

    Yours desk looks a hive of activity. I’m a newbie to the WOYWW so please be gentle with me!! Best wishes, Kym (No 42)

Leave a Reply

