Another old technique

Over on the Docrafts forum one of the challenges has been to ink over an embossed image.  Although I had seen this done in the past I don’t think I had tried it so was keen to have a go.

Inking over an embossed image - 1

This is a really simple technique in that you stamp an image with VersaMark or some other clear embossing pad, heat embossed with clear powder and then use a coloured stamp pad to go over the embossed image to make it ‘pop’ out.   The stamp I have used here is the JillyBeanSoup one and the sentiment which I have put around the edges is another of my Artistic Stamper prize ones.   I wasn’t sure if this ended up looking a bit too fussy for me so I also did this one.

Inking over embossing card - 2

The second image on this card hasn’t ‘popped’ as well as the top image and I think that is because the colour ink I have used is too light.   The image on the first card is really the best as the colour just worked as it should.  It is a great technique but obviously needs a little refinement to get the contrast right.   mind you looking at this photo it has not turned out to well for you to see what I am talking about.   It is a little more effective when you see it in the flesh so to speak.   Anyway I hope that maybe you might have a go and see what you come up with.  I ‘m sure I will have another attempt before long.  Might work great for Christmas cards.

Happy Crafting.

This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Colouring Images, Prizes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another old technique

  1. Linda(MssyG) says:

    Wow a great technique will have a go myself. Love the sentiment border you have created
    Linda

Leave a Reply

