Old techniques

Well I have finally got around to finishing a card I started  a week or two ago .   Originally this was a challenge technique but I’ve lost the link.   I couldn’t quite get it right and so just left the card half-finished on my desk.   I have tried today to do it another way and also thought I would finish this card as it wasn’t so bad really.

Spotlight challenge card

The technique was dubbed spotlighting and the idea was that you stamped an image twice and then coloured one and left the other blank .  You could either use the blank uncoloured one on your card and ‘spotlight ‘ with the coloured one or vice versa.   This is the version I used.   The image is ‘Fat Sparrows’ and is one of the images I won from Artistic Stamper a month or so ago.   I love the image and thought it would work great for the spotlighting technique.  I have coloured in with watercolour pencils and  stamped the base of the card with a JillyBeanSoup stamp which has been embossed in Platinum WOW powder.   The sentiment was free with this months Stamper magazine.   Rest of the items are from my stash.   I have done  a couple of more examples of this technique using this stamp which I will adding over the next few weeks or so.

Happy Crafting

UPDATE: I have found the blog where this Spotlight challenge was although it finished at the end of August.   They explain it much better than I did.   The challenge was here on this blog called Crafty Cardmakers .   I googled spotlight cahllenge and it did take me straight to the post but my link to it didn’t work so I have just linked to the actual blog.   Hope this helps.

This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Prizes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

