Batik Fun

Last week at my Craft Group we had a young lady come to show us Batik.   This a technique where you draw a pattern or picture, if you are clever, onto fabric with warm wax.   The fabric is then painted with dyes to produce a relief effect.  After watching, some of the members had a go at producing their own masterpiece.   Once the piece is dry it has to be ironed to remove the wax but it was an interesting technique.  There is a Batik Guild which gives a much better insight into how to , etc.

playing with Batik - Aug '10

This is my effort at Batik.   I am no artist and so stuck with a bit of a geometric theme with plain basic colours with just a bit of blending.  Not sure what to do with it now but think I will cut it up for 3 or 4 cards.  I don’t really like doing that with things I have tried but sometimes the space issue takes over and I realise that I can’t keep everything or else my house would be even more overflowing than it already is.

My winning card at the Village show - Aug '10

This next photo is the better one I promised of my card which was entered into the village show.  The class was for a greeting card for a special anniversary.   I choose a ruby wedding anniversary as I have had a few to make this past year or two and have a few more coming up for 2011.  I have used ny nesties for the shapes, a MS punch for the edge.  I positioned a ‘ruby 40’ peel off on the smallest heart went over with VersaMark Peony and then removed the peel off.    The background is done with a heart-shaped lace stamp which I have then embossed with platinum WOW embossing powder.   This looked very patchy but the effect is not too bad with all the other elements on the card.

All for now.

Happy Crafting

This entry was posted in Cards, Craft Group. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Batik Fun

  1. Very useful info
    Greetings and Good luck …

    Baju Batik Online

Leave a Reply

