Missed deadlines and rain

My resolve to post a bit more regularly with shorter posts was thwarted at the weekend as our internet router went on the blink on Sunday for no reason and it took ES till Monday evening to sort out what it was!  Still doesn’t really know why it went down but at least it is working now.

I am hosting the ABC challenge over on the Docrafts forum this fortnight and we have got to ‘Z’.   Not the easiest of letters to set a challenge on but I decided on Zodiac and zigzags.  I made a card initially which I then felt didn’t really convey the Zodiac bit so it took me until Sunday to get another one made.   I have made a sort of shaker card with a Sizzix crab cut from foam in it and have printed out a dictionary definition of the Cancer zodiac sign matted on black spotty holographic card and pale pink holographic card which I have edged with my Martha Stewart zig-zag punch.

ABC Challenge - Z

(The light here today is awful.   It is very grey and rainy outside and I have my light on – its 8.20am in August!!.)

I am a little happier with the next two cards although I think my card for the Clean and Simple Stamping challenge may have looked better if I had done it on a white textured card as the pale colours of the inks and embossing powders don’t show up to well on the blue.  I like this sketch though so may try again with another take on it later on.   The stamp I have used is a JillyBeanSoup clear set called Blackbean flowers.   I stamped it up in three different colours of ink namely Versamark Pink Gratefruit chalk ink, Versacolour Helitrope  and Brilliance Pearlescent blue ink.  They were then embossed with WOW Blue Pearl powder.  The sentiment is from my Waltzing Mouse set – Sewing Box Hugs.  This was inked with a Brilliance ink pad which is three colours named Mineral and then embossed with Personal Impressions Clear Gloss powder which is one of my favourites.  I have to say the. WOW powders are slowly taking over from the clear gloss though.

Clean&simple stamping challenge 102My third card was for a challenge but I have missed the deadline.  The sketch is from Card Patterns and is their sketch No 75 .   I loved the sketch anyway so I have used it for this card.  I have a recipient in mind for this one and with a little tweaking I think it will work well.  The top border is done with Stick With it Adhesive transfers by Doodlebug Designs Inc and has been covered with Beadazzles Salsa micro beads.   I have cut out a motif from the black and white paper I used at the bottom and added a red gem and a piece of red crinkly ribbon which I think was once on an Easter rabbit as it still had its bell attached.  The lace is from stash and is layered over a piece of grey paper.  I have added red gems to the square of paper to brighten up the black and white and hopefully add an air of sophistication.

Card Patterns sketch 75

I hope you have enjoyed my cards today.   Please add a comment so I know you have popped by and enjoy your day whatever you are doing.

Happy Crafting

This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

