Cards Galore

Despite doing lots of other things these past few days I have managed to complete 5 Cards.  Some are for challenges and some are just because.   I have also picked up my knitting again.  I had got a bit despondent with it, as I thought I had used up nearly half of the yarn I had bought on the back.  This indicated to me that I was going to have to buy at least another ball but on counting the balls the other day I realised that in fact I was only into the 4 th ball not the 5th, so I should finish it with what I have bought.   My mojo has returned re this project and I have set my self the task of completing it before the end of the month.   Not a real problem but I do so hate the sewing up bit.

My just because cards often come about when I decide to use up some of the bits and bobs I have on my desk.   There are often quite substantial bits where I have punched out things or just started projects and then changed my mind because the colours don’t work or the layout wont come the way I have in mind.   A couple of days later ( or more) when you go back to it, things often present themselves in a another light and it ends up as a different card altogether.

Cheery Yellow card

This is my just because card.  I had been playing about cutting circles to make some flowers and was left with the yellow piece of card.  I always try when I am using my punches to leave a space between shapes cos that way you can have an aperture to use later.   I was also experimenting with spritzing a background but I haven’t quite mastered that yet – think I need to use a thicker base card so it doesn’t buckle.  It has turned out to be a cheery card even if it isn’t perfect.

Pink Gem challenge No 6, Craftilious Challenge No 5, Allsorts Challenge 63

This card is for 3 challenges.   Over on Pink Gem they had a super sketch to follow and Allsorts challenge was  ‘Dressing up’.   I struggled a bit as I only had one stamp which had anything at all to do with clothes or dressing up but I thought I would go with that one.   Craftalicious wanted homemade flowers and as I love to have a go at home-made flowers I thought I would be able to combine the three challenges into one card.   I used a butterfly as a stencil on the card base using seagrass ink from a Colourbox queue.  I then embossed it with a super ‘WOW’ powder called Blue Pearl.   The stamp is from a Docraft goody bag  coloured with Marvy pens and Promarkers.   Sentiment is from a JillyBeanSoup set .   Flowers are made with card candy and a personal impressions stamp.  Rest etc is from Stash.

WMSC8

I turned the Waltzing Mouse sketch on its side to make this card and thought after I had made it that it would have worked better as a larger card.   The flowers I have used here and the sentiment were all from my only Waltzing Mouse set which is called ‘ Sewing Box Hugs’  I stamped them on some free’ My Minds Eye’ paper and it seems to have worked.  The Sun was originally a Christmas Cracker gift and I have chopped off the ring part to leave this little sun.   Rest is from stash.

Moving Along With The Times - Challenge 57

For this Moving Along With The Times card I had a sketch to work with but it also had a gardening / flower theme.  The flower in question was a clematis in purples and pinky shades so I reached for one of my favourite stamps again to produce this card.  the flower is a Penny Black stamp called ‘ Cluster’ and I have had it a long while.  It has been inked up with my Marvy pens which is what I always use to ink this and a few of my other flowery stamps.  They are so delicate that to do them in black doesn’t look right.    The sentiment is from a Hero Arts set.  Everything else is just general stash stuff.Shapes cut with Nestability ovals in two sizes.  The back two were just offset over each other to produce this look.

Clean and Simple Stamping Challenge No 101

This last challenge card was for Clean and Simple Stamping and I decided to make another Christmas card.   The Star on this isn’t detachable but the sketch would lend itself to that technique so I will be trying this out later.   I have used an embossing folder by Sizzix to emboss this star and then cut around it carefully.   The card has a holographic pattern of christmas trees on it and is quite pretty in real life but hasn’t photographed too well.  The sentiment I coloured with a green sharpie, the paper is from a Dovecraft Designer paper pack and the ribbon is sticky stuff from Docrafts.   Gems etc from stash.

Hope I haven’t rambled on to long.  My crafting tends to be in lumps so I always seem to post four or five cards at a time.  Sooner or later I will get the knack of doing one per day.

Happy Crafting

This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Flowers, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cards Galore

  1. shellshearer says:

    Really pretty card I just love that stamp
    thank you for sharing with us at MAWTT this week
    Good Luck hugs shell xx

  2. All of your cards are so pretty! Feel like I am visiting a beautiful flower garden in bloom! Thanks so much for playing along with this week’s WMSC 🙂

  3. lisa Jane says:

    LOve all your cards – but thanks for using my sketch and photo inspiration in your fourth card .
    I hope we will see you at MAWTT next week, good luck with the challenge
    Lisa 😉

  4. Brenda Brown says:

    Hi Tricia, lovely to see you again. My you have been busy and I love this set of cards. I agree the black ink on flower stamps can look rather heavy and yours look so delicate and pretty. Great job.
    Good luck with the knitting. Hope you get it done by the end of the month.
    Thanks for sharing your fab cards with us at MAWTT this week and taking part in Lisa’a challenge.
    Luv Brenda xxxx

  5. Fleur says:

    Fab card, perfect image
    Thanks for joining my challenge at ALLSORTS this week,
    Hugz Fleur xXx

  6. Julia Aston says:

    Wow – it’s like I’m in a card shop! you have been one busy stamper (and knitter apparently!) these are all lovely! thanks for including the WMS sketch challenge in one of them this week!

  7. Hi gorgeous creation fab colour combo great take on the sketch..thanks for sharing & joining us at A Gem of a Chall.

    Hugs Christine xx

  8. Hi , WOW you have been busy, they are all lovely, thanks for joining in with us on MAWTT this week, Hazelxo

  9. Pam Harazim says:

    Stylish card for “A Gem of a Challenge!”
    Thanks for playing along!
    Hugs to you,
    Pam
    Guest DT

  10. debby4000 says:

    Oh what wonderful cards.
    luv
    Debby

  11. Emma says:

    some fabby cards love the stamp you used on the Allsorts one and the background is great…

    Thanks for playing at Allsorts

    Emma xxx

  12. Ann says:

    Congratulations on keeping up with all these challenges – don’t know how you do it! Great cards too!

  13. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous creation! Lovely colour. Thanks for joining us at ‘A Gem of a Challenge’! xx Jenny xx

  14. Mandy says:

    Gorgeous cards….Great take on my sketch love the image…thank you for joining us at A Gem of a Challenge….
    Mandy xx

  15. Mandy says:

    Gorgeous cards, love your handmade flowers.
    Thanks for joining us at Craftalicious
    hugs Mandy xx

Leave a Reply

