Challenge cards and more courgettes

Well it has been a bit hectic here this last day or two.  The fact that I got in the top 3 of the Moving Along With The Times challenge spurred me on to doing some more cards yesterday which I will share a bit further on in this post.  Today I have spent the afternoon with our ‘honourary’ granddaughter and her Mum at the bookshop and the park.  It is a long time since I have had the chance to do this and more importantly I have some lovely pictures I hope to scrapbook later.

Since we have a big garden we have been trying to grow a bit more veg this year and tonight OH has picked – potatoes, black french beans, some baby beetroot and another courgette.   I have taken to grating these into things then no-one complains.   Apparently I am only allowed one courgette plant next year.  We only have two this year but even that is one too many.  The more you pick the more you get but if you don’t pick you get big course ones so it doesn’t matter what you do its wrong!

Anyway back to cards.  This first one is not for any challenge as I couldn’t fit it into anything.  I originally made the patchwork background for a challenge last week but then decided it didn’t meet the pastel theme.  I put it to one side and as I have to send a letter onto MIL thought I would finish it off for her.  The sentiment on this is from my Waltzing Mouse set ‘Sewing Hugs’ Most of the rest is from my stash and the only paper I know is one of the Hot off The Press ones called ‘Lavender Rosebuds’.   I made the leaves from some green vellum and drew the veins with various green pens including a Sharpie, a Promarker and a Marvy one.

Card for MIL

This next card I am entering in to Lorettas Monday challenge No 98 over on Docrafts forum which was a sketch but also needed soft shades of green.  It also for CharismaCardz Challenge No 30 which wanted something with a tail and ‘Texting Crazy’ over on Cute Card Thursday.

Charisma Cardz, Cut Card thursday and Lorettas Challenge

The image for this is a Dovecrafts stamp  from Pepper and Friends and I have coloured it with Sharpies, Promarkers and my watercolour pencils which I have left plain.   The text is from a Hero Arts Set.  I have embossed a piece of ‘Amazon’ coloured Coredinations card stock with a Sizzix folder from a ‘Starry Night’ set.  The flowers and gems etc were all from my stash.

My last card is actually a bit off the wall for me as I probably wouldn’t have used these colours together by choice.   The brief was Hot Pink , Warm Orange and Saffron over on the Create Colour Challenge.  The layout I have used here is from 365 Cards Sunday Sketch.   I actually loved this sketch and as Create Colour also had an optional Butterfly it gave me chance to use one of my Docrafts butterflies.  I used my Martha Stewart Punch on two layers of card.  I cut out a Blossom Nestie shape and actually used a butterfly as a stencil to get a bit of colour before I attached a white butterfly on top. The squares are cut with a Crafts Too punch and all the other bits are from my stash.  I have a tendency to use up bits when it comes to thinks like this so often don’t know exactly where things are from.

Colour Create And 365 Cards Sunday Sketch

This is about all for tonight.  There are other things on my desk at the moment and I really must get them finished.  Not to mention the pieces of material I bought in Glasgow and the little top I need to finish before Summer finally departs for this year.  Creativity can be time-consuming and other things often get left so occasionally it is a case of sorting out the other things and leaving the creative stuff for a day or two.

Happy Crafting.

This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Challenge cards and more courgettes

  1. tesab says:

    BEAUTIFUL!!! Love them all! Fantastic butterfly on the last one!!!!

  2. Pam says:

    These are all beautiful – I love that butterfly on the 365 sketch card!

  3. deb says:

    Gorgeous cards! many thanks for joining in the CCT challenge, hugs Debx

  4. Liz Marsden says:

    Thanks for joining us at colour create with this gorgeous card, hugs Liz xx

Leave a Reply

