Birthday, challenges and courgettes

Well today is my ‘baby’s’ birthday – he is 32.   Where have those years gone!

Tonight is also the meeting of my Craft Group when I think someone is going to bring some Pastels and paper down for people to play with if they like, so that should be interesting.   I am not an artist by any stretch of the imagination so I will probably not participate this time but get on with my little jumper I am knitting.

The last few days have seen me trying to get a few challenge cards done as well as one for Youngest Son which I will also enter into a challenge.   i hope you like what I have done as they are all a little different to my norm.  My personal favourite has to be the Clean and Simple Baby card – even though it is very pink but just right for a cute baby girl.

MAWTT #56, ABC -Y, CCC#29

I am entering the above into Moving Along With The Times Challenge #56 which was Vintage Pastel, Anything but Square on CharismaCardz Challenge and also ABC challenge – Y for Yesteryear over on Docrafts.   This card is a patchwork quilt ‘Log Cabin’ design done in four sorts of paper ( three of them were free ones and one is a Hot of The Press one called Lavender Rosebuds.)   We spent a lot of holidays at my Granny’s house so this is my yesteryear theme – patchwork quilts, a little cottage and lots of flowers around the door.    I have finally got around to using my new Waltzing Mouse stamps here – house and sentiment.   The little flowers are from my stash , and I made two flowers from cute candy ‘brads’ and the larger one from 5 small nestie scalloped circles inked and spritzed with cosmic shimmer spray and then mussed about a bit to distress them.  The gems etc are from my stash as is the ribbon – the top piece is a piece from a Docrafts sticky ribbon sheet.  I have also gone along all the edges of the paper strips with my tracing wheel and a pale blue watercolour pencil to simulate stitching on the ‘quilt’.

WMSC7 and C.R.A.F.T. Challenge

This is a complete departure for me in that I have used some ready-made stickers I had bought a long time ago.   The large one is from a set which is by Design House and is called ‘Space Cadet’ but the other ones are of unknown origin.  I have used the Waltzing Mouse challenge 7 sketch and flipped it over to do this challenge and it is also for the C.R.A.F.T. Challenge 60  ‘ Out of This World’.  I used my Waltzing Mouse stamps again here for the Star and the fluttering Hi!.   I used some decorating chalk on th base card and also for the topper base but it doesn’t show up too well.  I also but some ‘cosmic shimmer on the second layer of the star to give it a different look and stuck the two layers together with Anita Gloss Accent stuff.   I also did this with the fluttery Hi which I stamped on acetate cut out with a pinch , layered on to another circle punch piece and then stuck together with Anita Glossy Accents.   Sure could have done it easier if I had thought about it but it was quite late last night when I got to that point.

Allsorts Challenge 62 and Clean and Simple 100

This is my favourite card out of the four I have done these past few days.  it is for Clean and Simple Challenge 100 which was a really lovely sketch and it is also for Allsorts Challenge 62 which was Baby / Child.  The ribbon is a Docrafts one, the stickers were from my stash.  The Feet brads were from Accent Depot and the sentiment is from a Hero Arts set.  I have used a Martha Stewart punch on some donated glitter card and the pink gingham is from free papers.  The edges were inked in Versa colour brown and Dew Drop pearlescent Orchid.

This last card is sons birthday card and is a nod in the direction of his current favourite pastime which is kayaking down the local rivers.  The photo is a picture I took from the bridge you have to cross to get to his house and it was raining at the time hence the white spots in the corner.  ( I ‘m not very clever with the photo software to get those out of the picture so they have to stay).  I have hand-made the kayak front from craft paper and the oars from a cocktail stick and 4 punched leaves cut down and inked.  The blue paper is another freebie from a magazine and the other elements were from my stash.  The leaves I have punched out from various colours of paper and card.  the quirky bird is an image I have which just says ‘Bird – Judith D – 02’.   I am going to enter this into the Card For Men challenge No 5 which wanted – 1 image, 2 papers and 3 embellishments so I hope it meets the brief.

Sons birthday card and Cards for Men challenge no 15

This is really my post for today except to say-have you ever tried Courgette buns?   We have an abundance of courgettes from our 2 plants this year and I came across this recipe while looking for ways to use them up.  I added an ounce of cocoa for an ounce of flour and if you didn’t know they had courgette in them you wouldn’t be able to tell.   They are quite tasty.   I cooked them as little buns as I thought they would work better.  Makes about 30 this way .

Happy Crafting

This entry was posted in Cards, Challenges, Craft Group, Gardening, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Birthday, challenges and courgettes

  1. WOW these are all super. Thanks for joining in with us on MAWTT this week. Hazelxo

  2. Heidi says:

    Beautiful cards! Thanks for joining in our challenge this week over at MAWTT, hugs Heidi

  3. Brenda Brown says:

    Wow Tricia, this is one set of amazing cards they are beautiful. I love all of them for different reasons but I have to say the patchwork quilt and little cottage is just divine. It fits the theme perfectly for my vintage pastel challenge, so thankyou for joining us at MAWTT and for sharing all your cards with us.
    Luv Brenda xxx

  4. lisa Jane says:

    Love your vintage pastel card
    Thanks for joining us at MAWTT this weel
    Lisa 😉

  5. Suzi says:

    Amazing cards, your little alien card is perfect for the challenge over at C.R.A.F.T. this week, thank you for joining us.
    Hugs Suzi x

  6. Alison says:

    The card for your son is gorgeous! Thanks for joining in our challenge at Cards for Men. Good luck in the draw.
    Hugs, Alison x

  7. All of your cards are lovely! Thanks so much for playing along with the WMSC – hope you come join the fun again 🙂

  8. Amanda says:

    your cards are all great, the baby one is lovely

    thanks for taking up my challenge this week on Allsorts

    lotsalove

    Amanda xx

  9. Brenda Brown says:

    Congrats on getting Top 3 at MAWTT with your fabulous pastel card. B xxx

  10. Julia Aston says:

    What a great set of cards – love the baby card with the layered WMS house and pretty flowers – and your sticker card is so fun! thanks for playing with WMS sketch this week!

  11. Natasha says:

    Beautifully done creations!

Leave a Reply

